Vernon L. Smith Excellence Award in Experimental Finance 2021

We would like to announce the call for nominations for the annual Vernon L. Smith Excellence Award in Experimental Finance. The Society for Experimental Finance and Chapman University will award a prize of US$2000 for the most outstanding article published in a peer-reviewed journal in 2020 using the method 'Experimental Finance'.

In addition to the monetary prize, the author or representative from the authors of the winning paper will be invited to present that paper and related research at the World Conference of the Society of Experimental Finance from June 16-18, 2021 in Innsbruck, Austria.

We would like to invite you to nominate a paper. To qualify it must have been published in 2020 using the method 'Experimental Finance'. The date must be the in-print date rather than the on-line date. You may send the nomination via an email to Please write 'VERNON SMITH EXCELLENCE AWARD' in the subject field. Nominations of own papers are possible.

We will generate a shortlist of papers from the nominations. The shortlist will be evaluated by a panel, who will then decide the winner. The panel members are:

  • Elena Asparouhova (University of Utah)

  • Michael Kirchler (University of Innsbruck)

  • Dave Porter (Chapman University)

  • Utz Weitzel (VU Amsterdam and Radboud University)

The deadline for submitting a nomination is FEBRUARY 28 2021.